A Look Back in Time

Making Duckpin News 15 Years Ago

mar 21, 2017

Please enjoy reading the Spring 2002 issue of The Duckpin News.

Making Duckpin News 15 Years Ago

dec 13, 2016

  • The NDBC announced its No. 1 ranked bowlers for the 2000-01 season — Theresa Vermillion of Harwood, MD was the No. 1 ranked woman for the second straight year with a 144.295 average and Greg Kraus of Bel Air, MD led the men with a 153.812 average for his first No. 1 title.
  • The NDYA and the duckpin industry lost two key youth program leaders when Norm Fleury of R.I. passed away on October 25 and Ray Askew of VA passed away on August 9.
  • Patty Palmer of Hampstead, MD won the WNDA Ladies Grand Prix at Suitland Bowl on November 17-18.
  • Don Dove of Abingdon, MD won the DPBA Men’s Masters at AMF College Park on November 17-18.
  • Theresa Blankenship of Olney, MD and Kevin Carr of Bowie, MD won the Howard Parsons Memorial Doubles Tournament at AMF College Park.
  • The NDBC announced its Hall of Fame inductees for their May awards banquet: Lindsay Hammonds, Bob Wilson, Scott Wolgamuth, Joe Rineer, and Carol Yingling.

Making Duckpin News 10 Years Ago

sep 1, 2016

  • Robin Sczepucha of Baltimore and David Frizzell of Norfolk won the Unisex singles A and B division titles, respectively, in the 76th annual NDBC National Tournament, which took place at AMF Southwest in Linthicum, MD. Bernie Hipkins and Paul Kirby, both from Maryland, won the Unisex Doubles and Buddy Turner, Frank Wagner and Eddie Darling, all from Maryland, won the Unisex Triples.
  • The NDYA honored Carol Yingling for 25 years of service as Program Director.
  • Erik Pellett won his third DPBA star when we captured the Pro Tour title on August 12-13 at Town Hall Lanes in Johnston, R.I.
  • Amy Bisson (now Sykes) earned her 8th WNDA star that same weekend at Town Hall Lanes. The previous month she won her 7th star on July 15-16 at White Oak Lanes in Silver Spring, MD.
  • The championship teams in the 33rd annual NDYA National Tournament held at Turner’s Longmeadow Bowl in Hagerstown, MD were:
    • Preps - Victory Lanes (VA)
    • Bantams - Holiday Lanes (CT)
    • Juniors - Greater Washington Youth Travel
    • Majors - Bowlarama (VA)
  • The NDYA high average leaders for 2005-06 were:
    • Girls - Andrea Smith, Waterbury, CT, 137. It was the third straight year that Smith led in average.
    • Boys - Colin Dunnack, Colu.mbia, CT, 143
  • The highest games bowled in the NDYA program in 2005-06 were:
    • Girls - Ashley Yingling, Riviera Bowl (MD), 216
    • Boys - Kevin Dunnack, CT Travel, 219
  • Stacey Gaegler of Finksburg, MD, won the 26th annual Ladies All-Star Classic at Riviera Bowl (MD).
 Back to Top